Home arrow Halaal Certification arrow What is Halaal?
What is Halaal? Print E-mail
Islam is a comprehensive religion guiding Muslims through sets of rules governing every facet of life. Since food is an important part of daily life, food laws carry a special significance. Islamic philosophy propounds that the food which man consumes affects not only his physical constitution but also his moral character and spiritual upliftment.

Halal is an Arabic word which means lawful or permissible. In the specific context of consumables it refers to food that is lawful for consumption. The antonym of Halal (lawful) is Haram (unlawful) which refers to unlawful items. Muslims are permitted to eat the flesh of certain animals, which are required to be slaughtered according to the specified ritual procedures. Pork is totally not permitted. Similarly, any animal not ritually slaughtered will also be categorised as Haram (unlawful). Halal also encompasses all aspects of food hygiene and quality.

Although non-meat items are neutral in terms of Islamic Law, the processing procedures, food additives, preparation areas, etc. also must be free from non-Halaal contaminants.

With specific reference to the flavour industry, it is imperative that no animal and/or insect derivatives/extracts be used, since the sourcing and monitoring of Halaal animal derivatives from the source i.e. the abattoir right through the process is complicated and difficult. Animal derivatives and extracts would include animal fats, animal enzymes, gelatine, blood plasma, tallow-based glycerine, L-Cysteine from human hair, animal stock, animal stearates, cochineal colour etc.
 
Furthermore, wines, liquors and fermented alcohols of the like are also Haram (unlawful) in terms of Islamic Law.

Seafood and derivatives thereof are acceptable in terms of Halaal dietary regulation.

Once the Halaal Authority inspects, evaluates and approves all the relevant areas of the ingredients/raw materials and the manufacturing process, Halal approval is granted.

As a summary, the following must be kept in mind when processing Halal flavours:

(1) Contamination

It is vital that at no stage must non-Halaal products come into contact with Halal products.

(2) Processing, Storage and Transportation

Halaal designated should also fulfil the following conditions:

(i) Shall not consist of or contain anything which is considered to be unlawful according to the Shara'ah (Islamic Law);
 
(ii) Shall not be prepared and processed using any appliance or facility that was not free from anything unlawful as per the Islamic law;

(iii) Shall not in the course of preparation and processing be in contact with any food that fails to satisfy (i) and (ii) above.

Notwithstanding the above, Halal can be prepared and processed using facilities which have previously been used for non-Halaal food provided that proper cleaning, wash-down and sterilizing procedures, according to Sharaa (Islamic Law) requirements, have been observed.
 
< Prev

  helpline@sanha.org.za

SANHA Mailing List

 SANHA Mailing List Subscribe

Facebook
      Twitter
   
 
This website is powered by NET31