Home arrow FAQs arrow Glycerin
Glycerin Print
Glycerin

Q: Glycerin - is it Halaal or not?Reason I?m asking is that I was told it is a form of Alcohol, but still seems to be found in some chocolates, biscuits, snack bars, etc.

Answer:


Glycerine is not an alcohol nor is it derived from alcohol. It is a syrupy liquid which is a by-product of animal fat such as tallow. Widely derived from plant source, e.g. Palm Kernel and also synthetically manufactured which is free of animal derivatives. Plant and Synthetic glycerine is permissible. Glycerine obtained from animal fat is generally not acceptable since the fat is in all likelihood, derived from a suspected non-Halaal animal source.
 
< Prev   Next >

Query Further

 
If you do not find what you are looking for or would like to query further, you may contact our Halaal Helpline on 0861 786 111 or Click here to send us an e-mail

  helpline@sanha.org.za

SANHA Mailing List

 SANHA Mailing List Subscribe

Facebook
      Twitter
   
 
This website is powered by NET31