Home arrow News & Events arrow Industry News arrow Why are some Muslims spreading rumours they don't eat doughnuts?
Why are some Muslims spreading rumours they don't eat doughnuts? Print

A false rumour Muslims do not eat doughnuts is being re-circulated on social media by members of the Muslim community, in a humorous response to Islamaphobic taunts.

One of the earliest social media tongue-in-cheek claims about doughnuts not being halal appeared on Twitter in 2014, and for the past three years there has been a slow but consistent trickle of the same claim.

In January 2016 a similar joke was tweeted after several incidents of pork, which Muslims are not permitted to eat or touch, being left outside mosques.

In 2012 a spate of pig's remains were placed outside mosques in Malaysia and in April 2015 pigs heads were placed outside a building in Solihull, UK, after claims it was being used illegally by Muslims for worship. In 2016 a man was charged after bacon sandwiches were thrown at a mosque in Bristol.

Although the tweets were intended as a joke it seems some people were left confused. One Twitter user posted: "Just asking. How are they haram?"

More tweets insisting doughnuts were forbidden in Islam followed, as did the curiosity by some non-Muslims about why. As a reply to yet another joke tweet said: "Oh no, that's not fair."

Source: http://www.bbc.com/news/blogs-trending-40530656

SANHA Comments:
Although intended as a joke, SANHA receives daily queries on sundry items irresponsibly spread on social media. As per the above article, confusion is not only spread amongst Muslims, but misinformation about our religion is given to non-Muslims as well. Be responsible in using the bounties at your disposal. Verify before making a statement!

It should also be noted that doughnuts, like any other bakery item can be Halaal or Haraam. See our flashnews for further reading.

< Prev   Next >


SANHA Mailing List

 SANHA Mailing List Subscribe

      Twitter      Instagram
This website is powered by NET31